Five divisions, a single Department

The Department of Energy of the Politecnico di Milano brings together the scientific expertise necessary to deal and scrutinise subjects and energy-related technologies as a whole.

From an organisational point of view, it is divided into five tightly interconnected Divisions, each with a specific expertise on different topics.

The Divisions employ more than 10,000 square meters of state-of-the-art laboratories for their experimental activities.


Electrical Engineering - Coordinator: Prof. Roberto Faranda

Nuclear Engineering - CeSNEF - Coordinator: Prof. : Andrea Pola

Thermal Engineering and Environmental Technologies - Coordinator: Prof. : Andrea Casalegno

Machines, Propulsion, Energy Systems - Coordinator: Prof. : Paolo Chiesa

Chemical Technologies, Processes and Nanotechnologies - Coordinator: Prof. : Andrea Li Bassi